Stay connected - click here
to sign up for updates.

Home » Electroacoustic/Contemporary » COWELL, HENRY: Mosaic (dbl)

COWELL, HENRY: Mosaic (dbl)
A useful collection of ensemble pieces covering the period from 1915 to 1963 and including the fascinating Quartets Euphometric and Romantic (1915-19), both not only 12-tone but also rhythmically highly complex - as well as the more austere 1916 Quartet Pedantic. Also here are several open form and very convincing 'Mosaic' pieces, consisting of modules that can be arranged in any order, or be played simultaneously, the percussion piece 'Return', a suite for woodwinds, and a quartet for flute, oboe, cello and harp. Close listening is required, and not too much at once. Informed sleeve-notes by Karol Oja.

Code: MODE72-73
Price: £21.75