Stay connected - click here
to sign up for updates.

Home » Electroacoustic/Contemporary » NEIL ROLNICK: Extended Family

NEIL ROLNICK: Extended Family
A modest but engaging collection comprising three excellent compositions: Extended Family for string quartet - tuneful, interestingly baroque and still contemporary, as well as being sweet to the ear: itís an exercise too in thematic and variational writing. Faith is for piano with some fairly discrete computer materials and real-time processing - a brilliant tour-de-force of a piece; a 25 minute tour through 500 years of music history interspersed with jazzy sentences and numerous quotations from and references to the piano repertoire. Impressive and beautifully realised. Lastly comes MONO Prelude, for voice (Rolnickís own) and computer - a work centred on the hair-raising narrative of Rolnickís sudden deafness (permanent) in one ear and the real threat the other, out of nowhere. Another work hard to place or compartmentalise, but very effective and intelligent. L

Code: Innova782
Price: £14.50