Stay connected - click here
to sign up for updates.

Home » Henry Cow &c » HODGKINSON, TIM: Sketch of Now

HODGKINSON, TIM: Sketch of Now
Six substantial compositions: three for the Romanian Hyperion Ensemble, with additional percussionists and wind players (Tim conducts two and plays on the third, which Iancu Dumtrescu conducts); one for bass clarinet and tape (all Tim); one for computer-modified cello and electric guitar (Tim again) and the last for clarinet, bass-clarinet and piano. These are very gestural pieces, which speak to dramaturgical rather than conventionally musical relationships; to the open ear rather than to the decoding mechanisms of a musically literate brain. In this respect there is a meeting of the specifically Romanian idea of spectralism with a more anthropological way of finding a sounding presence; a generating rather than representing way of music-making.

Code: MODE164
Price: £14.50