Stay connected - click here
to sign up for updates.

Home » Art-Historic » JOHN CAGE: Shock Vol 1

JOHN CAGE: Shock Vol 1
JOHN CAGE: Shock Vol 1
In October 1962, John Cage and David Tudor went to Japan to present a series of historic concerts. Sensation. These are invaluable recordings, since they aren’t of a selected repertoire reconsidered in tranquility but capture the atmosphere of a time when all this was new and highly radical. And it’s a fine programme, played by the best exponents. Volume 1 contains Toru Takemitsu’s Corona for 2 pianists (David Tudor, Yuji Takahashi), Christian Wolff’s Duo for Pianist and Violinist (David Tudor, Kenji Kobayashi) and John Cage’s Variations II (David Tudor and John Cage) which is … noisy, dramatic, enormous, amplified, distorted and great. Hard to believe it’s a piano. In a nicely packaged double-fold card sleeve, with fine pictures, and notes. Japanese limited edition, expensive, but…

Code: EM1104CD
Price: £18.50